smitten

as you know we tend to lean a little more towards to cottage side of things…with lots of muslin, roses, and fig tree.  though when I saw Smitten online I knew I had to make it.

I debated on making it out of fig tree or Brenda riddle or maybe even civil war, but felt it needed to be something a little brighter.

When I saw Moving On Lawns I knew that was the line.  it had stripes and micro prints and lovely blues, pinks, and magenta purples.  so it would be feminine but still a little bit on the wild side when you compare it to the subdued and romantic prints we usually flock to.

if you’ve been following along over on instagram (@sweetgirlstudio)…you have seen the progression of Smitten…from a bundle of Moving On Lawns by Jen Kingwell and papers and templates…a completed Smitten that has now been checked of my list.

it progressed as follows:

img_20160721_101808.jpg

the first blocks…

img_20160814_200926.jpg

I love the acid/poison green

img_20160817_152649.jpg

I love to layout blocks as I get a good number of them finished.

20160827_004825.jpg

finished before really finished.

img_20160921_114600.jpg

I wanted to use the entire bundle…so I cut binding strips then mom and I laid out the backing  (she is working on the center column…you can see smitten peaking through.)

20160923_140924.jpg

I quilted, bound, and washed it.

smitten-frontclose up of my favorite block…

smitten-close

and the scrappy backing…

smitten-back

Moving On Lawns is now available…however…our FQ bundles have not arrived yet (sad face).

we do have Smitten packs (pattern, templates, and papers) available now in the etsy shoppe…or in-store if you are close!

-april

–I’ve reverted back to a little softer palette.  I’ve started my Miss Scarlet’s Flower Garden using Miss Scarlet by Minick and Simpson.  I am using 1 1/4 inch hexies, Bella Ivory, and a Miss Scarlet bundle.

Leave a Reply

