baby jane

2016 was full of finishes…

i quilted up Mom’s flower garden, Irish Chain, and her Double Wedding Ring UFO from 20 years ago was finally finished up, quilted and bound.

I finished up my Apples to Zinnias Brazilian Embroidery, my Honey Squared Figgy EPP bag (i am still working on this pattern), Charmed Garden, 7-Layer Bars, Smitten, Stars in the Garden, Hexie Treat (this project has not been quilted yet), and lastly my Baby Jane.

baby jane

I started my Baby Jane of February 18th, 2016.  When i started papers had not been available, so i photo copied each block, cut it out, then basted and hand stitched each block together.  Mom pieced the rows together for me.

I followed Jane’s coloring for the blocks and used all reproduction civil war era fabrics.  Each block uses a different print and each solid wedge is a different print for a total of 283 different prints if you include the background.

We used the Dear Jane rulers (which i highly recommend) so everything went together beautifully.  When it came to the scallop, i figured if I’m going through all the work to piece 52 wedges, i better finish it off with a scallop.  We pieced a 3 inch strip to each side, then mom drew the scallop and corner scallop.  I quilted it; then bound it.  (i even embroidered it like Jane.)

I finished up Baby Jane on July 9th…(9 days shy of 5 months).

So it has been over 6 months and i have never shared pics of Baby Jane…so here they are…6 month pictures.

jane jane1 jane2 jane3 jane4 jane5 jane6Dear Jane books are available if you’d like to give it a shot.  Baby Jane is up in the shoppe; feel free to stop by and visit.

happy stitching!  –april&mickey

2 thoughts on “baby jane

Leave a Reply

