farmer’s wife friday

  farmer’s wife Friday

…it’s happening…

…right here…

every Friday

starting

Friday, March 3rd.

3 blocks a week

111 blocks

37 weeks

you should have all your blocks done by Thanksgiving.

(promise)

I’ve already started cutting out templates, bagging, and paper clipping them in place.

so…grab your book…

decide on your fabrics…

************

I will be working with Civil War

(which is my favorite fabrics to work with)

Here is a pic of our Jane and Lucy bundles these are a good jumping off point.  Lots of different colors, prints, and designers.

jane-and-lucy

To make picking fabrics easier…I went through my bundles and sorted everything by color.

I am very excited to be using shirtings (jane didn’t require any shirtings…just a background.)

For a bigger variety I picked up some fabrics by Julie Hendrickson and Judy Rothermel from JJ Stitches when we were in Madison last fall.  Then I added in some Moda lines by Jo Morton, Betsy Chutchian, Primitive Gatherings, and Howard Marcus.

20170131_020755.jpg

**************

get printing your templates

I will be English Paper Piecing my blocks, so I am printing templates for the blocks and cutting down to the stitch line.  Then I will English Paper Piece them together.

*****************

6 1/2 inch ruler

I tracked down a 6 1/2 inch ruler to help make squaring up my blocks easier.

******************

sashing||cornerstones||borders||binding

sashing…unbleached muslin

cornerstones…scrappy

borders…I’m leaning towards an unbleached muslin narrow, then a dark narrow, and finally a light tan floral wide border.

binding…unsure

[once I have my sashing, cornerstones, borders and binding figured out…we’ll put together finishing kits for the Farmer’s Wife Sampler]

****************

heck…feel free to start working on your blocks now.

if you do not have a book but would like to join us, we have some available

farmer’s wife book

book-farmers-wife-sampler

if you want to use colors similar to mine…

I suggest the following:

Jane & Lucy Starter Packs

Gratitude by Jo Morton

Hope’s Journey by Betsy Chutchian

Preservation by Howard Marcus

Reflections by Jo Morton

************

I have already started and will post pics as I go over on instagram.

and 3 blocks here every Friday starting on March 3rd

these are the hashtags i’ll be using

#sweetfarmerswife #fwqal #farmerswifefriday

happy stitching!

x0x0 april

One thought on “farmer’s wife friday

  1. Pingback: farmer’s wife Friday sneak peak | sweetwater cotton shoppe

Leave a Reply

